USGS Western Ecological Research Center

Home Who We Are Where We Are What We Do Products Search Outreach Jobs Contacts

Every year, wildfires devastate the landscapes of Southern California from Los Angeles to San Diego. Why do some communities burn, and some don't? USGS is analyzing fire patterns at the wildland-urban interface (WUI) for clues to help cities balance their management of fire hazards and natural resources.



Ross Bradstock and Jon Keeley --Photographer: Ben Young Landis/USGS

PROJECT COLLABORATORS

The Southern California Wildfire Risk Scenario project is led by Jon Keeley of the USGS Western Ecological Research Center with the support of local, state, federal, international and nongovernmental partners. It is funded by the U.S. Geological Survey.

USGS WERC Sequoia and Kings Canyon Field Station
http://www.werc.usgs.gov/seki

Jon E. Keeley (PI) | jon_keeley@usgs.gov
C.J. Fotheringham | cfotheringham@usgs.gov 
Teresa Brennantjbrennan@usgs.gov


USGS WERC San Diego Field Station
http://www.werc.usgs.gov/sandiego  

Robert Fisher (PI) | rfisher@usgs.gov   

Center for Environmental Risk Management of Bushfires
University of Wollongong, Australia
http://www.uow.edu.au/science/biol/icb/cermb/

Ross Bradstock (PI) | rossb@uow.edu.au
Owen Price | oprice@uow.edu.au
Trent Penman | tpenman@uow.edu.au


Conservation Biology Institute
http://consbio.org

Alexandra Syphard (PI) | asyphard@consbio.org 


USGS Western Geographic Science Center
http://geography.wr.usgs.gov

Anne Wein | awein@usgs.gov
Bill Labiosa | blabiosa@usgs.gov
Noemi Alvarez | noemialvarez@usgs.gov



ADDITIONAL PARTNERS


Additional project support comes from the following partners:

  • California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection
  • Conejo Valley Community Planning
  • Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors - 3rd District
  • Los Angeles County Fire Department - Forestry Division
  • National Park Service - Santa Monica Mountains National Recreation Area 
  • Orange County Fire Authority
  • San Diego Gas & Electric - Community Fire Safety Program
  • Santa Monica Mountains Fire Safe Council
  • U.S. Joint Fire Science Program
  • USDA Forest Service

Updated 2012.08.02

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Page Contact Information: webmaster@werc.usgs.gov

References to non-U.S. Department of Interior (DOI) products do not constitute an endorsement by the DOI.

* DOI and USGS link policies apply.